The Board

The Board is responsible for setting the organisation’s strategic direction. The Board sets policies, priorities and strategies for the Commission in performing its functions.

The Board members provide important links to the broader Victorian community, ensuring the Commission’s work remains relevant and responsive to the human rights issues that touch people every day.

Board members


Moana Weir (Chairperson)

Moana Weir is an experienced lawyer and Board member, with 15 years’ experience as company secretary and general counsel of ASX listed entities such as REA ( and SEEK, as well as serving on the board for V/Line Corporation (2010 to 2013) and Melbourne Montessori School Ltd. Moana is currently the Head of Legal for Regulatory and Consumer at Bupa ANZ.

Moana has senior management experience in leading legal, regulatory and risk management, corporate governance, sustainability management, corporate communications and external reporting.

She has a passion for driving real change and better outcomes in equal opportunity and human rights, including the areas of gender diversity and inclusion in the workplace.


Josef SzwarcJosef Szwarc

Josef Szwarc is Research and Policy Manager of the Victorian Foundation for Survivors of Torture, which provides a range of services to advance the health and wellbeing of people from refugee backgrounds who have survived torture and other traumatic events.

He has worked in a variety of social and legal policy positions in governmental and civil society agencies in Australia and the UK, including research and advocacy at the International Secretariat of Amnesty International.



Colleen PearceColleen Pearce

Colleen Pearce has nearly 30 years experience in the community and health sectors. She is Victoria's first female Public Advocate, a position she has held since September 2007. She is also chair of the Community Visitor boards.

Colleen is a fearless advocate for the human rights and interests of people with a disability and a mental illness. She believes the most significant issues in this space are abuse, neglect and exploitation. On behalf of OPA, Colleen is outspoken on these issues.

In 2003 Colleen received a Commonwealth Centenary Medal for her contribution to community services in Victoria. She is a board member of the Connecting Home, an organisation established in response to the recommendations arising from the Stolen Generations Taskforce Report and the Dax Centre Ethics Committee.


Abeselom NegaAbeselom Nega

Abeselom is the CEO of iEmpower – a highly respected specialist youth services organisation – and he has previously served as the General Manager AMES Employment, Chairperson of the Federation of African Communities Council, a Commissioner of the Victorian Multicultural Commission (VMC) and Board member of the National Accreditation Authority for Translators Interpreters (NAATI) for 9 years, making him the longest continuous serving Board member in the organisation's 40 year history.

Abeselom is a member of the Federal Government Refugee Resettlement Advisory Council (SSAC) and the current Chair of the Melbourne Employment Forum (MEF), an organisation working to create employment opportunities to refugees and migrants. Abeselom is interested in facilitating meaningful opportunities for young people from disadvantaged backgrounds through partnerships with the public, private and community sector based organisations. Abeselom is a member of numerous professional bodies.


Megan BostonMegan Boston

Megan Boston is a chartered accountant with skills and expertise in the areas of finance, audit, risk management and governance.

She is a board member of South East Water, Adult Multicultural and Education Service (AMES) and Beyond Medical Education (BME). She also chairs the AMES Audit and Risk Committee and the BME Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.



TimGoodwinTim Goodwin

Tim Goodwin is a barrister, practicing primarily in commercial and public law. He has a Masters of Laws from Harvard Law School and is a member of the Indigenous Lawyers’ Committee, the Commercial Bar Association of the Victorian Bar and a member of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law.

Tim is a Board member of the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth and a Trustee of the Reichstein Foundation and the Roberta Sykes Indigenous Education Foundation.

Tim is a member of the Yuin people of the south-east coast of New South Wales.


Jennifer HuppertJennifer Huppert

Jennifer Huppert is a lawyer with nearly 30 years’ experience, practising largely in the area of commercial property, and is currently a special counsel at KHQ Lawyers.

Jennifer has a long involvement with the community and not-for- profit sector. She is currently president of the Jewish Community Council of Victoria, and has previously served on the Boards of the B’nai B’rith Anti-Defamation Commission, Youth Connect and the National Council of Jewish Women of Australia.

From February 2009 until November 2010 Jennifer was a member of the Legislative Council of the Parliament of Victoria, and prior to that served as a director of the Emergency Services and StateSuperannuation Board.