Wednesday, 20 January 2016

Good luck to Victorian Australian of the Year Award finalists

The Commission wishes the Victorian finalists of the Australian of the Year Awards good luck, and thanks them for their service to the Victorian community.

The list of finalists for this year’s awards is littered with prominent names from the human rights and equal opportunity fields.

Victorian Australian of the Year Julian McMahon is a barrister and human rights advocate who has campaigned fiercely against the death penalty, and represented Australians facing the death penalty in foreign countries. He is a passionate human rights champion who has dedicated much of his life to working on and speaking about human rights issues internationally.

Victorian Senior Australian of the Year Jack Charles is one of the nation’s most respected and enduring actors, a member of Australia’s stolen generation and a strong role model for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people alike.

Rebecca Scott, Victorian winner of the Australia’s Local Hero category, is a social entrepreneur whose STREAT business provides homeless and at-risk youth with life skills, work experience and training.

The list of state finalists also features a distinguished list of human rights and LGBTI champions. Anna Brown is a human rights lawyer and equality advocate whose fingerprints are on almost every recent legal and political win for Australia’s LGBTI community. Margot Fink, trans activist and member of Minus18, the national organisation for LGBTI youth, has worked on a range of high profile projects aimed at reducing the discrimination and stigma faced by young LGBTI Australians. Kon Karapanagiotidis, founder of the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre, works with a team of volunteers to save lives and create a welcoming and compassionate Australia for refugees.

The Commission congratulates all Australian of the Year finalists and wishes them the very best of luck.

Victorian Finalists

Julian McMahon – VIC Australian of the Year
Jack Charles – VIC Senior Australian of the Year
Robert Gillies – VIC Young Australian of the Year
Rebecca Scott – VIC Australia's Local Hero
Anna Brown – VIC Finalist
Professor George Jelinek – VIC Finalist
David McNamara – VIC Finalist
Father Kevin Dillon AM – VIC Finalist
Peter Hitchener – VIC Finalist
Father Bob Maguire AM – VIC Finalist
Margot Fink – VIC Finalist
Jessica Marshall – VIC Finalist
Lucy Richards – VIC Finalist
Mark Haughton – VIC Finalist
Kon Karapanagiotidis OAM – VIC Finalist
Melanie Raymond – VIC Finalist

National Finalists – Australian of the Year
Julian McMahon – VIC
Anne Carey – WA
Catherine McGregor AM – QLD
Will MacGregor – NT
David Morrison AO – ACT
Jane Hutchinson – TAS
Elizabeth Broderick – NSW
Dr John Greenwood AM – SA

National Finalists – Senior Australian of the Year

Jack Charles – VIC
Tim Fairfax AC – QLD
Bob Shewring – NT
Professor Greg Tegart AM FTSE – ACT
Professor Ian Allison AO AAM – TAS
Graham Edwards AM – WA
Professor Gordian Fulde – NSW
Monica Oliphant AO – SA

National Finalists – Young Australian of the Year

Robert Gillies – VIC
Nic Marchesi and Lucas Patchett – QLD
Benjamin Masters – NT
Nipuni Wijewickrema – ACT
Zac Lockhart – TAS
Catherine Hughes – WA
Melissa Abu-Gazaleh – NSW
Arman Abrahimzadeh – SA

National Finalists – Australia’s Local Hero

Rebecca Scott – VIC
Michael Ross – QLD
David Taylor – NT
Peter Cursley – ACT
Raymond Arnold – TAS
Dr Stephen Langford – WA
Dr Catherine Keenan – NSW
Claire Foord – SA